How do I become a Muslim?


What is Islam?

After the creation of Adam and Eve, just one true message had been delivered to humankind. Thus, many Messengers (including Noah, Abraham, Moses, Jesus, and Muhammad) were sent by the Only True God, Allah the Creator, to follow His command and to guide their people to believe in the Creator and to worship Him alone. The original and same message that these Messengers taught was:


Since these Messengers of God all preached the same message; therefore, their religion must be the same!

Submission, which means Islam in Arabic, is the religion of these Prophets and Messengers of Allah (the One True God), the Creator.

The Qur’an, confirms that submission to God, or Islam, is the true religion of Jesus, Muhammad, and all the Messengers of God. Similarly, the Bible refers to the meaning of Islam (submission to God) in these statements:

“Submit yourselves therefore to God.” (James 4:7)

“Submit to God and be at peace with him.” (Job 22:21)

Muslim means (in Arabic) a person who submits his or her will to Allah the One True God; therefore, Adam, Noah, Abraham, Moses, Jesus, Muhammad , and all the Messengers of Allah were true Muslims who preached and practiced submission to God, Islam!

Becoming a Muslim is a transformative journey of faith, surrender, and submission leading to peace of mind, tranquility, happiness, and ultimately to blissful eternal life (Paradise).

Practically speaking, a Muslim (or a person who would like to become a Muslim) must believe in these 6 articles or fundamentals of faith in Islam:

1. Belief in Allah (God), in His existence, His Oneness (in Arabic, Tawheed), His Lordship, His unique names and attributes, and that He is the Only One deserving of worship.

2. Belief in Allah’s Angels, whom He created to praise Him and to obey Him by carrying out His orders.

3. Belief in Allah’s Revelations, including the original Words of Allah revealed to Abraham, David, Moses, and Jesus. The Glorious Qur’an is the final, pure, and authentic Word of Allah (God), sent to Prophet Muhammad (may Allah’s peace and blessings be upon him).

4. Belief in all of Allah’s Messengers and Prophets, including Adam, Noah, Abraham, Moses, Jesus, Muhammad (may Allah’s peace and blessings be upon them).

5. Belief in the Last Day, the Day of Judgment and accountability. On that Day, all humankind will be judged by Allah according to their faith in Him and according to their actions.

6. Belief in Destiny, which is decreed by Allah and the belief in His ultimate knowledge of all things. And since the believers trust in Allah; they are satisfied, content, and confident with whatever Allah decrees for them, whether they perceive it as good or bad.

In addition to the belief in the articles of faith in Islam, those who choose to embrace Islam must practice these 5 pillars:

1. Shahadah (The testimony of faith): This testimony is the most essential pillar and the gateway to Islam that one needs to declare in order to embrace Islam:

“I testify that there is no god worthy of worship but Allah, and I testify that Muhammad is the Messenger of Allah.”

You can repeat saying this statement

(in Arabic):



2. Salat (Prayer): Salat refers to the five daily, obligatory prayers that all Muslims must perform.

3. Zakat (Almsgiving): Zakat is the mandatory, annual giving of a certain amount (2.5%) of one’s wealth to the poor and needy. 

4. Sawm (Fasting): Sawm means refraining from all food, drink, marital relations, and smoking from dawn until sunset throughout the Islamic month of Ramadan.

5. Hajj (Pilgrimage): Hajj is the ritual of pilgrimage to Makkah that every Muslim must perform once in his or her lifetime, provided he or she is physically, mentally, and financially able to do so.

Yes, I can make it!

To become a Muslim...

Please feel free to chat with us:

     Let's chat     

or contact us via Whatsapp: